Notes from this week (May 16-21)

As always, if you’re interested in my more frequent/daily updates, I post on Mastodon and Pixelfed.

What happened this week?

1. I could not figure out what to read for this week’s book (I’m doing a book-a-week challenge for Apr-Jun). I had already been reading Distrust That Particular Flavor by William Gibson before I switched over to In the Beginning…Was the Command Line by Neal Stephenson and finished it for last week. Then I started reading BUILD: An Unorthodox Guide to Making Things Worth Making by Tony Fadell since it was released recently and thought I’d finish that for this week, but it got me thinking too much about work stuff, so I switched back to the Gibson essay book. (And now I’m blogging instead of reading, so I’m getting even more behind 😅)

2. I also started reading this webcomic called Heartstopper by Alice Oseman thanks to stumbling across it on a post in the subreddit for the Onyx Boox line of e-ink devices. I really did judge the book by its cover…at least, the cover looked nice enough for me to look up info about it, and find where I could read it. I’m currently reading it in the Tapas app, but I like it enough that I want to get physical copies of the graphic novels. Annoyingly, graphic novels don’t count in the aforementioned book-a-week challenge I’m in, otherwise, I would not have such a problem figuring out what to read this week. 😛

3. I finally got my replacement office chair on Friday:

QiVi 5-Star Base Chair by Steelcase It is the same make as these chairs that are in one of the “fancier” conference rooms in my building, and felt pretty comfortable to me whenever I’d sit in them, so I figured I’d buy one for home. The ones at work have a white frame and teal seat fabric. I like my red and black color scheme.

Originally I had gotten a Blu Dot Daily Task Chair because I found out that it was the type of chair that was used on the set of Severance (awesome show!), for the MDR group:

severance set

Unfortunately, the chair was uncomfortable AF (hey, Dylan! 🙂), so I returned it. Luckily my replacement is nicely comfortable. Phew.

4. I decided to buy movie tickets for The Fifth Element’s 25th anniversary showings on a couple days at the end of June, one of which is my birthday!

The Fifth Element - Rotten Tomatoes

This will probably be the first movie I’m seeing in the theatres for at least a couple years… Even before the pandemic started, we didn’t go to the theatre much because we have a nice AV setup at home and didn’t want to deal with crowds and gross theatre floors. I can’t remember what movie we did see in the theatre…it might’ve been Avengers: Endgame. 😮

I actually want to see Doctor Strange 2, but am still quite hesitant to sit in a crowded theatre, even though I’ll be masked the whole time. Hopefully by the time of the Fifth Element showings, things will be calmer, in terms of COVID cases and what not. 🤞

5. Yesterday I watched Pitch Perfect 3. I didn’t think it could get weirder than the plot for the second movie, but it did! Regardless, it was fluffy entertainment for a Saturday night. 🤷‍♀️