By Paula Anderson

Photography to me is like writing is to an author. My camera is my pen. It enables me to be able to share my viewpoint with the world.

When I am on a photo safari, my husband looks for the big picture, something that interests him. Rusty vehicles, old buildings, landscapes with undulating roads disappearing into the horizon.

I, on the other hand, look for the invisible. The small bug on a leaf, a flower, the pattern of bricks making up an old road. I watch the sky for clouds and birds, no one notices those while rushing to and fro. This past weekend, I heard what sounded like a young bird calling for its parents. Upon closer examination, I saw a tiny squirrel poking its head out of a hollow knot on a tree sounding a warning there were intruders. I must have taken thirty pictures of the little guy, hoping to capture one in perfect focus and with a spot of light in his eyes. Success! I got three excellent portraits to share with my friends!