day forty two

My experiences with Neocities

I finally made my Neocities website!

Neocities is an interesting travesty. While an overwhelming majority of it's users seem to be self-proclaimed brooding teenagers, I believe it still holds immense value as a service. The delightful and self-indulgent absurdity in some of the pages I have seen over the last few days has been beyond anything I have seen in my years on the Internet. In an age when massive corporate entities dominate search results, Neocities tries it's best to live up to the original promise of the Internet.

And it does so in an unapologetic manner. Extraordinary gifs and splash pages, a lot of frogs, terribly intimate journals, and often downright ridiculous ideas, Neocities is a very refreshing reminder of where it all began.

P.S. As a self-proclaimed brooding teenager myself, I take back my skepticism of this core user base. Some of these daily public journals are very raw, and you can find yourself emotionally invested in an anonymous individual half a planet away.