Projects

First up, this is 100% a procrastination post, but in a good way (I think).

Currently I have two projects that I want to work on. The first is my fantasy novel which I started way too long ago to want to think about. Despite that, it lives rent free in my head and I’m too attached to the characters to let it go. I will finish it (I will).

The other is non-fiction. Describing it is hard because in some way it’s a bit of a ‘self-help’ book, but I feel like there’s a bit of a stigma around what that means and what they’re bought for.

In 2021 my husband and I cared for our friend who had terminal cancer. It was a long, traumatic four months, but despite that I would make the choice again. One of the biggest takeaways I had from that time was that there was so much I dealt with that I had simply no clue about. I learnt what ‘anticipatory grief’ was, when internal bleeding can be ignored, and how often you can ring nurses at night for pain relief.

The important thing about this was that it felt much like drifting on a raft on the open sea, I was making it up as I went along and there was so much I wish I had known in advance. This other book of mine is an attempt to right that for others, to write something that I would have appreciated.

I’m not sure how sensible it is to have two projects on the go, though perhaps it will actually make me more productive. I’m definitely open to hearing opinions on that one…

K xx