Velveteen Rabbit-inspired Microfics

This was a fun little exercise I did back in February 2018, where I took five random lines and wrote microfics based on them, each less than 500 characters long. I think I succeeded in making something pretty good in most cases.

“When you are Real you don't mind being hurt.”

“Do you believe that?”

“Yes.”

“Why?”

“Because I can't bear what it would mean if I don't.”


“Little Rabbit,” she said, “don't you know who I am?”

I didn't, but she knew me. She knew too much about me, down to the childhood nickname I was too embarrassed to tell even my lovers.

“No,” I said, shivering at the thought of what other secrets were no longer mine alone.

Her only reply was a smile that replied to my unspoken question with “All of them”.


“I've brought you a new playfellow,” the Fairy said.

I smile tightly at the others huddled about the clearing, but it doesn't reach my eyes. Neither do the smiles I receive in return, coming from faces that haven't known hope in too long.

“Thank you,” I tell the Fairy. “It is truly an honour to be here.”

Of course I'd lie. What a Fairy does as a reward rarely has the interests of humans in mind, but what they do when they feel insult is far worse.


The sack had been left untied, and so by wriggling a bit he was able to get his head through the opening and look out.

Far below, treetops flew past, making him dizzy. For the sake of his stomach, he looked to the horizon behind them instead. The lights of a city were still visible in the distance, although he wasn't sure which one.

The sack jostled, being re-adjusted on a shoulder much bigger than his and he lost sight of the outside. He nestled in, praying they'd be fast enough.


And while he was playing, two rabbits crept out from the bracken and peeped at him. He didn't turn his head for fear of scaring them, but knew they were there.

He became still, as still as the trees. For the rabbits he might have been one, so they passed him by, investigating his toys.

Satisfied, they hopped off in search of some particularly tasty grass. The boy let them go, not wanting to harm them. He had much bigger prey in mind, as he bared teeth sharp as daggers.