a thing that happened

I am a big believer in being focused on the longterm. Like years, decades, or centuries from now longterm. Longterm thinking is so important to me that i don't hyphenate it, it is a word to me.

Right now the world is losing its societal mind over coronavirus. It is an awful thing but I am almost oddly unconcerned about it. I am so unconcerned that that lack of concern is concerning to me. It is a disaster without precent in decades. And I am concerned about my mom potentially getting it. Many friends are directly impacted by it.

To me I can already imagine a time when this is just a thing that happened. I've seen enough natural disasters and other outbreaks of diseases that are all now just things that have happened but at the time were all consuming. My mind is already in the place where this will just have been a thing that happened.