Humpback Whales in Monterey Bay

For our anniversary my partner took me to Monterey, CA to go to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and go whale watching. I have been obsessed with sea life since I was a toddler. Seeing whales was on my things to do while I'm alive list. This will be baked in my memory for rest of my life. The moment I spotted one I gasped and was elated. If I had just seen whale spouts in the distance I would have been thrilled. Seeing whales breaching was beyond anything I ever dreamed. I can't wait to do it again, maybe next time during Blue Whale season. Below is a video I put together. I edited to build anticipation, but if you want to skip to leaping whales the action really starts around 2:12.

We went out with Blue Ocean Whale Watching in Moss Landing, CA. The captain and onboard scientist were awesome. They taught us that the whales are there to eat fish and krill for months, before migrating to tropical water off Mexico to mate and give birth. They will likely not eat after leaving the bay and need to fatten up enough to migrate and then nurse a 30' whale calf. So they gorge in Monterey Bay day and night for months!