Burlesque

I remember one of my penpals wrote me on one of her letters back then, “We, Europeans, are the master of celebrating sadness. We dig deep into it, appreciate the beauty in it, and celebrate it eloquently.”

I couldn't help thinking of those sentences when I saw the burlesque and cabaret shows. The performers smiled all the time, being energetic and all, but actually most of the songs that they performed, ... were sad songs.

At the beginning of the show, one of the ladies said, “Let's leave everything we are, at the front door. Leave the troubles and all of the worries. In this room, we will just celebrate and feel happy.”

So, I did. I left some serious part of mine on the front door, and tried to find the fun or the beauty of the performances.

I was kinda wondering, how did she feel to get almost nude in front of many people. I also wonder which part of it that was seen as erotic or even empowering women as how some stated it.

In the end, I just tried to enjoy the food and tried to be entertained by pondering my thoughts lol.

One thing that I finally understand, was what my penpal meant, back then.

Sometimes people don't need to be fixed, don't need to be understood, don't need solutions or even to be injected with positivity.

Sometimes, the only cure of sadness and loneliness is to celebrate them.

#life #art