I Surrender

I often walk to the bookstore randomly and walk through the aisles without any particular book to find. I stop suddenly where I feel like stopping, pick any random book that catch my attention, open any random page and read it.

Or randomly pick a movie without reading the review first and just watch it straight away. Or walking to a coffee shop, pick random seat and sit silently, listen to what people around me were talking about. Or activating the shuffle mode on every playlist of mine, just so I could let the music tell me what to listen at this very moment.

Sometimes, I even let one of the baristas or cashiers on my fave coffee shop to pick anything that cross their mind as my order. And I always answer any question that strangers asked me out of the blue.

Some of my friends said I’m a heavy wanderer. A daydreamer. And I don’t mind at all. As not all who wander are lost, right? Besides, being lost, most the time, are the greatest way to find a beautiful place or thoughts that I could find.

Today, I found this quote from a book that I picked; “Happiness is a result. Without enough reason and inadequate cause, happiness won’t grow.” And I knew instantly that I was being reminded.

The pressure of life was really hard these days, that I’ve been trying to control myself and my life so hard, up to the point where I ignored the instinct and refused to surrender. Instead of minimalizing my movements so I could float in the water, I struggled hard and almost made myself drown.

Life and the universe really work on their own way. And I surrender.

— Happiness might be a result, but contentment is a choice. I’m ready whenever you are, life.

#life