Be a Dandelion

I’m not sure what first attracted me to dandelions.

I’m sure, like most small children, I was taken by the “flowers” that had sprouted up with the spring weather.

The temperature gets to the point where in upstate New York you can start to go outside without a jacket, and these beautiful yellow flowers (to a small child) start sprouting up EVERYWHERE!

And (as the photo testifies) you can pick these flowers, and no one will yell at you.

In fact, I remember my Uncle David making wine from dandelions at some point long ago during a visit…

So why do most people- those of the Neighborhood Associations and neatly manicured Kentucky bluegrass lawns- consider this versatile and delicious flower a…

weed.

I recently took some pictures of dandelions. I’d been enjoying the spring weather with a walk to clear my head during work, when I stopped to admire the dandelions.

I thought about what makes the dandelion unique…

And I realized…

I am a dandelion.


Around the age of 9 or 10, my hair decided, pretty much all at once, to curl.

This earned me the nickname “dandelion head” (from a cute girl I was crushing on)– proof below.

Or “faggot” from the bullies who incessantly tortured me in school.

I don’t remember how many insults or punches I took, but I do remember fighting back- once. As I passed one of my more relentless enemies, I ambushed him with one swing.

My right cross caused one lump- his head hitting the locker caused another.

I seem to remember my Principal might have smiled as I sat with him after the incident. The bullying subsided for a little while- but the damage was done.

Dandelions are marginalized- they are something that are loathed by most homeowners- Americans spend around $35 BILLION dollars a year on lawn maintenance. Dandelions are prime suspect number one in the weed lineup.

We work to eradicate dandelions to replace it with…another weed (grass)??

(And I understand that grass is a ‘plant’ and not a weed technically- although if you don’t grow it to eat it or admire it…it’s a weed).

So our society determines what weeds look appropriate and which ones should just go away…but God’s original plan was different.

Genesis 1:9 Then God said, “Let the waters beneath the sky flow together into one place, so dry ground may appear.” And that is what happened. 10 God called the dry ground “land” and the waters “seas.” And God saw that it was good. 11 Then God said, “Let the land sprout with vegetation—every sort of seed-bearing plant, and trees that grow seed-bearing fruit. These seeds will then produce the kinds of plants and trees from which they came.” And that is what happened. 12 The land produced vegetation—all sorts of seed-bearing plants, and trees with seed-bearing fruit. Their seeds produced plants and trees of the same kind. And God saw that it was good.

(That was day three. On day six…)

Genesis 1:26 Then God said, “Let us make human beings in our image, to be like us. They will reign over the fish in the sea, the birds in the sky, the livestock, all the wild animals on the earth, and the small animals that scurry along the ground.”

…29 Then God said, “Look! I have given you every seed-bearing plant throughout the earth and all the fruit trees for your food. 30 And I have given every green plant as food for all the wild animals, the birds in the sky, and the small animals that scurry along the ground—everything that has life.” And that is what happened.

31 Then God looked over all he had made, and he saw that it was very good!

So God considers the dandelions (and lillies of the field) to be good, but considers human beings made in Their image VERY good.

Yet I look at American society today, and the Christian church in general, and I see whole groups of people marginalized.

People who are beautiful in the eyes of God.

And I remember how I felt being cornered and pummeled in the corner of the gym one day. Or I try to remember how many times I was called ‘gay’ or ‘faggot’ (the exact number escapes me). And I empathize with those on the margins of our society for whatever reason.

You are also dandelions- and you are beautiful.

Grace & Peace Scott ps– all scriptures are NLT unless stated otherwise- all emphasis is my own. pps– subscribing by email is the best way to follow the winding writing path I am on (and I am pretty sure Jesus loves subscribers ;–)