Having An Open Table

As a Lutheran, I've heard the phrase “open table” to represent that anyone is welcome inside a church to worship. Certainly all churches would say that they offer an open table- but it's one thing to say it and another to actually do it.

I recently left my church family over their doctrine on same-sex marriage and their views of the LGBTQIA+ community. I had to leave the table because love was no longer being served.

The Instagram post above reminded me of another table where after supper, love was served...

John 13:3 Jesus, knowing that the Father had given all things into his hands, and that he had come from God and was going back to God, 4 rose from supper. He laid aside his outer garments, and taking a towel, tied it around his waist. 5 Then he poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciples' feet and to wipe them with the towel that was wrapped around him.

Later in the chapter, Jesus explains why He washed their feet.

14 If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another's feet. 15 For I have given you an example, that you also should do just as I have done to you. 16 Truly, truly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him.

Jesus then takes it one step further...

34 A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. 35 By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”

Me must lead with love as Christians. B U T We have to do this with the humility of Jesus who turned the power structure upside down changing from power OVER to power WITH

All human beings are deserving of love and respect- made in the image of God. With love through humility, the table can be truly opened to ALL

Grace & Peace Scott ps– all scriptures are NLT unless stated otherwise- all emphasis is my own. pps– subscribing by email is the best way to follow the winding writing path I am on (and I am pretty sure Jesus loves subscribers ;–)