Father's Day

#100DaysToOffload – Day 40

Yesterday was Father's Day. As we all know it is a modern construct supposedly supported by the greetings card industry to drum up business. It's not a particularly big deal in our household but I do like winding up the rest of the family for a few weeks prior to it by talking about all the presents and surprises I'll get for Father's Day. The reality is usually quite low key and this year was no exception. Usually for Father's/Mother's Day the other parent cooks a nice meal with the aid of the children. This was was a bit different as Mrs Luke has strained something in her neck from a week of sitting badly during what seemed to be back to back Teams or Zoom meetings. This meant she couldn't actually do much! I had to go go do the shopping for the meal and do the prep but that's fine.

The day started not the way I expected as we had an Ikea delivery first thing (so the coffee in bed I was hoping for didn't have a chance of arriving) and I was lugging boxes in the house in my pyjamas first thing. I did get a present:

coffee!

Which was very welcome. Proper coffee is always appreciated. (Think the last time I drank instant coffee was June 2019 and that was because it was the only option while I had a thumping hangover.)

Pleasant stroll along Hove seafront walking the dog and the children after that and a video call with my dad.

Then down to lunch. My favourite food it food that you need to eat with your hands and that gets you messy so it lunch consisted of a lot of that:

beef short rib

Massaman beef short ribs

katsu wings

Katsu flavoured chicken wings

buffalo wings

Buffalo hot wings

bbq ribs

Baby back pork ribs

along with salads, coleslaw and fresh focaccia from the top notch Italian deli near us. It was a feast!

Then a visit to my folks to sit in their garden and drink fizz and get attacked by my children:

bundles!!

All in all a great Father's Day.

This is one of my 100 Days to Offload posts. It is a blogging challenge started by Kev Quirk. Check https://100daystooffload.com for more info.