Following On

#100DaysToOffload – Day 15

The book I'm currently reading is “Following On” by Emma John. It's about the author's obsession with the English cricket team in the 90's (when the English cricket team were arguably one of the worst national sides in the world).

book cover

It's a mix of a memoir with her interviewing some of the cricketeers from the team to ask their recollections. So far it is very enjoyable and light-hearted with lots of self-depreciation.

To be honest it is making me miss cricket a lot. Whilst I'm not a big fan of Test cricket or county cricket I do enjoy 1 day matches and love T20. That all started when I broke my ankle in 3 places a few years ago and pretty much was confined to the sofa for 3 months whilst waiting for it to heal up. I discovered Indian Premier League cricket which was just the entertainment I needed. Whilst cricket traditionalists think of T20 as “fizzy keg” cricket it does it for me. Last summer I had a season pass for all the Sussex Cricket Club T20 games as their ground is only a 15 minute walk from my house and I had already booked 2 tickets for this summer. Actually I had wanted to get a season pass again but they all sold out in before my January payday came and I could afford it! Oh well. Like the football cricket isn't currently cancelled and is instead postponed so maybe I'll still get to go.

This is one of my 100 Days to Offload posts. It is a blogging challenge started by Kev Quirk. Check https://100daystooffload.com for more info. Or don't. See if I care.