iPhone

#100DaysToOffload – Day 4

After about 3 years of faithful service my Moto G5plus is just too battered and too mangled to be useful as anything other than as a projectile or weapon. :) Give or take a few months I think I've had an Android phone for at least 8 years. My last iPhone was an iPhone3 so quite a while. The familiarity of the environment is great and I have it all configured in a way that just works for me. So naturally I decided to replace the G5 with an iPhone. Previously Apple products were evil and all about locking in users to their ecosystem or just very overpriced shiny things. However my main work machine has been an iMac for a few years now (the choice was that or a corporate set up Dell grey box running the highly restricted Windows image we produce). All my family have iPhones. I ended up buying a Mac mini for home as I really didn't want to have to be looking after a computer at home as that would be a busman's holiday. So it just seemed the logical thing to do to get an iPhone especially as I wanted a phone with a great camera, which is probably the only complaint I had about the Moto G5. Lastly these days I think I trust Apple with my data more than I trust Google. Never thought I'd say that but there it is.

Using it has been a nightmare so far, though obviously I'm not regretting it, as so many things such as gestures and keyboard are just muscle memory so I'm tapping and clicking in all the wrong places. Trying to remember the various accounts and logins for all the different apps and services has been quite a challenge so far.

So yeah my name is Luke, I'm an iPhone user and I hate freedom*.

(*Just a stupid joke from the excellent and far too infrequent Duffercast)

I am participating in a blogging challenge called #100DaysToOffload. Check out https://100daystooffload.com to see how awesome it is.