Peace to Beirut

Last night going through an old notebook I came across this cutting I'd taped in. It has to be at least 10 years old, probably getting towards 20 years old.

Peace to Beirut

A little searching and it turns out it is by a very popular Lebanese singer called Fairuz and was written in Arabic

To Beirut – peace to Beirut with all my heart And kisses – to the sea and clouds, To the rock of a city that looks like an old sailor’s face. From the soul of her people she makes wine, From their sweat, she makes bread and jasmine. So how did it come to taste of smoke and fire?

For Beirut A glory of ashes, for Beirut Of blood, of a child held in its palm My city has extinguished its lantern She (my city) closed its door Became at night alone Alone with the night You are mine… You are mine Oh, embrace me; you are mine My banner, and the stone of tomorrow, and the waves of my travel. The wounds of my people have blossomed The mothers’ tears have blossomed You, Beirut, are mine You are mine Oh, embrace me…

#100DaysToOffload – Day 46

100 Days to Offload is a blogging challenge started by Kev Quirk that I've been pretty lax at stickign to recently! Check https://100daystooffload.com for more info.