Platform B radio AKA Shazam FM

#100DaysToOffload – Day 2

I'm not even sure how we discovered Platform B radio. It's a local community radio station as I understand it and I think they got allocated the frequency of a different local radio station that went bust or got bought out by one of the big groups of broadcasters (like Capital). Anyhow it just appeared on our car radio and we started listening. The thing with Platform B is there is absolutely minimal talking, no adverts, no news, hardly any introductions to tracks etc. Just music. Most of the people involved are young; the “get involved” page asks for people between 16-25. The reason it got the nickname Shazam FM in my household is that 99.9% of the music they play you've never heard of before. This means you're constantly going “who's this?” and launching Shazam app on your phone to find out what the track is called. It's quite reminiscent of the French radio station FIP (which coincidentally had a pirate relay broadcast in my city for about 10 years).

If you're curious to listen they have a listen online page, make shows available through mixcloud afterwards and is even available through the Tune-In app which is great as I get to say “Alexa, play Platform B radio” and can get it on my Echo (because I hate freedom).

I am participating in a blogging challenge called #100DaysToOffload. Check out https://100daystooffload.com for more info.