My Issues with Flatpak

First, Flatpak download is too large for internet quota. Second, Flatpak downloaded is too large for hard disk capacity. Third, Flatpak installation slows down my entire computing.

I have an excellent example when I install a program which normally takes up to 100-200 megabytes with Flatpak I ended up with 1 gigabyte download and 7 gigabytes storage space in 1 hour time. I experienced a lot of hangs while Flatpak is installing it heavily disturbs other computing works I was doing. Below is my disk space measurement before and after I install one application using Flatpak.

Before: [master@master ~]$ df -h / Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on /dev/sda4 27G 7.2G 19G 29% /

After: [master@master ~]$ df -h / Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on /dev/sda4 27G 15G 12G 56% /

Flatpak consumes incredibly too much computer disk space. I believe any computer user with common sense will not like this.

I understand the goodness of Flatpak. However, I do not understand why people do not dislike it. In my opinion, if you use Flatpak, you must be a wealthy person, with a lot of computing power, eight-fold gigabytes of memory, terabytes of disk spaces, and more importantly unlimited internet access. Most people do not have such luxury.

This is my issue with Flatpak.