Ways I differ as a manager

This note contains some reflections that I might want you to know as someone who reports to me (or just a colleague). It's not absolute truth, simply a #WorkInProgress that I'll expand and update as I figure more of this out.

I need to understand your stress level on an ongoing basis to look after you and help you manage your workload. I am less able to interpret the non-verbal as you may be giving off about this, so I need to be able to trust you to be honest about your wellbeing. In return, I am always going to take you seriously and try earnestly to help when you do give me this honesty. If you wait for me to notice you're struggling you might wait longer than you need to. I will always be honest with you and tell you whatever I can. Lying about things just doesn't make sense to me, and if something is confidential I will always tell you that I know more but I can't tell you, and explain why if I am.

If you know the stereotypes of autistic people, you might expect me to be blunt and to value bluntness. In fact, I still have feelings and I know you do too, and while it may take me time to fully apprehend your feelings I will still try to be tactful, and I expect the same courtesy from you.

I welcome feedback and I value honesty, but be prepared to give me a lot more context with your feedback than you might be used to: I need you to be clear and honest also about the strength of your feelings and how big an issue you consider this to be, along with a reasonable explanation of why. You don't need to do all that work yourself though, as I will ask questions about what I don't yet understand, as long as I trust you to answer honestly.

Discuss...