Squirrel!

I am increasingly noticing that The Bearded One is becoming very easily distracted by his darling daughter. I’ll be talking away at him, and he will suddenly stop me and say something like “look at those gorgeous eyes” or “she is doing (insert mundane thing here)”. He is the puppy distracted by a squirrel.

Now this shouldn’t be a surprise, as he is very easily distracted by literal squirrels, especially black squirrels. Apparently British people are endlessly fascinated by black squirrels, which are very very common in my part of Canada but completely absent in the UK. The Bearded One is not the only Brit who has been thrilled and amused by the little noir fur balls! On numerous occasions while I’ve been driving he has scared me half to death but suddenly pointing and yelling excitedly upon spotting one at the side of the road. He obviously doesn’t realise that such activities are generally associated with impending collisions with skunks, deer, moose or bears!

Then there was the amazing moment when we were at a historic site, host of a major battle in the War of 1812. I was stood reading the blue plaque outloud and trying to share my country’s short but rich history with him. Part way through I turned to look at him…..and he was literally running across the snow chasing a black squirrel! Yup, that is the father of my child. Sigh.


Entry 5 of #100DaysToOffload

4 September 2020