Why a blog?

I’ve blogged before. I found it a nice way to engage with myself and the world. Many things go through my head, and finding an outlet to order and share those is great. Also, I often think I am quite hilarious and that the world definitely needs to experience the wonder that is my mind! This is a debatable statement.

In the past, I carefully planned and wrote entries. I always included images, and carefully considered layout. I also tended towards general themes for my blog – either musing of an expat, or running. Now, that all seems too much for me. I am living my non-Mom life in 20 minute chunks, which seems to be the amount of time our little one is willing to go down in the cot or sit in her bouncy chair during the day. I am also not sure who or what I am beyond baby at the moment. I don’t think this is a bad thing, but I have to accept that my life has changed and will stay changed. I will carve out more ‘me’ time as Zoe gets older and more independent. And I will no doubt get back to running, and I will always have amusing thoughts on what is wrong with every other country (Canada having perfected daily life!). But at the moment, I don’t want pressure to ‘be’ one thing or to fit a certain theme.

So, this blog is my chance to just take a few minutes each week to throw down some thoughts and ideas. To get those adult musings out of my head before delving back into the fascinating and engaging world of a tiny baby.


Entry 2 of #100DaysToOffload

23 August 2020