Helluva Week

Hello again, assholes, as the title would suggest, you know the rest.

I'm still reeling from everything that's happened this week: from the friendship that sank, to my cousin who died. OK, so only two things. But it still has me in a funk. Hell, it took me all week just to write this! I've been hesitant to write this because I thought I could salvage the friendship, despite the hideous accusations that were thrown at me. I hate that I lost a friend so easily, it'll sting for a while, I think. It was good while it lasted, despite my ignoring the obvious signs of impending explosion. I feel like an idiot. I'm an empath for fuck's sake, this should have been easy to anticipate and disperse.

My cousin's death didn't hit me as hard, I guess that's one of the perks of being a medium. I mean, it didn't really come as a shock given her medical history; stomach cancer plus the general lack of a large intestine kinda makes living a bit difficult. Her spirit appeared within a day, still reminiscent of her death form. I've seen enough grisly deaths to not be massively affected, but I could still feel her unease at possibly being stuck looking like that. Thankfully, once the three-day period was up, she was able to gradually appear differently. She has opted to stick around rather than move on; I know other people might find this odd, but I like to give spirits the choice, provided they behave themselves. She goes between my current residence and my other cousin's place, I think it's still setting in for her. For someone who died a less than painless death, she's taking it surprisingly well!

On the lighter (or darker) side of things, I managed to read Hell Followed With Us in under a day; I even wrote a mini-review on Bookwyrm! I tend to gravitate towards books that blend religion, queerness, and horror, I just can't get enough of the premise! HFWU was an amazing book; even though it was short, it still managed to get the point across beautifully. The characters were likable, the premise was well-thought-out, the mental imagery was chillingly beautiful! All in all, it made for an awesome experience! I just started reading The Spirit Bares Its Teeth, I love the whole “Trans kids with fangs and teeth and what happens when they bite back” premise of these books!

I really should write more stuff about my mediumship, but at the same time, I don't really feel like being the next cliché. I think I'm OK with just writing the occasional blurb, I certainly don't intend on trying to be an authority on this stuff, I just like sharing some of the weirder aspects of myself!

Thanks for listening! (even if you are just The Void.)