The Bird that Liberates Its Mother

To my daughter Arudana I say:

Looking at the emblem of your motherland I am reminded of a story of the bird that liberated its mother.

Just like your forefather pursued selfless action to liberate his motherland, So it was the Garuda pursued selfless action to liberate his birth mother.

From what should the two mothers liberated from? Both should be liberated from slavery. Both should be liberated from a conqueror.

But what is the price of the mother’s liberation? The price of the mother’s liberation was the water of life. The price of the mother’s liberation was an elixir of the gods.

So the noble Garuda flew to the top of the Meru. Fought the gods and endured pain on every part of its feather. Took the pot of the water of life through trials and adversities. Single-mindedly set on liberating the beloved mother.

So such a selfless act touched the divinity. It is bestowed upon the Garuda immortality and sovereignty.

What do you think, my daughter Arudana, Does the Garuda, after obtaining immortality and sovereignty, After liberating its mother from slavery and bondage, Such thought came to it? —With immortality and sovereignty, I shall conquer over mortals and dwell among the gods.

No, my daughter Arudana. Instead, my daughter Arudana, It rendered service as the vehicle of the divinity. It made a promise to carry the burden of the many worlds.

With such a selfless act your forefather liberated his motherland, But no divinity bestowed upon him, neither immortality nor sovereignty.

No, my daughter Arudana. Nevertheless, my daughter Arudana, He rendered service as the vassal of the motherland. He made a promise to carry the burden of the whole lands.

Just like your forefather pursued selfless action to liberate his motherland, So it was the Garuda pursued selfless action to liberate his birth mother.

Thus I said those to my daughter Arudana.


Berlin, 14 August 2020

From Stories for my daughter Arudana. #poetry #Arudana