Write.as 2.0

Today I deployed about 500 commits and 11 months worth of code that makes up the second major iteration of Write.as.

This is the largest thing I've built by myself, and today I'm thoroughly reveling in that. But more importantly, I wanted to talk about what Write.as is now, such as: still a work in progress.

Especially in the online world, 11 months is a long time to be working on software and never release it. I've always prioritized quality and reliability over development speed with Write.as, so I simply didn't want to release anything until it was perfect.

But now it's pretty close.

The Write.as you're looking at now is good, but not as slick or easy to use as it should be. However, I learned in the past several months that you can still hold quality to a high standard and ship pre-perfection if you know which things need it the most. For Write.as that's the writing experience. Your work is automatically saved as you type on the apps and web application, and that's still solid. Now you can create a blog (like this one!) and add posts to it, whether you wrote them before or after signing up — that's solid too.

But I still need to make maintaining posts, blogs, and external site integrations as easy as publishing on Write.as already is. Currently it's pretty rough, but it's getting there. And with a little feedback from everyone now that it's out on the web, it'll be much easier to polish the edges that need it.