How to handle cancellations on demo appointments In sales we often get that demo appointments habitually cancel on us. There is a way to minimise this:

If prospects cancel habitually, let say twice, I will do 3 followups, then marked them as a loss. Yes people are too nice to say no, if they do it more than twice, put them in a followup file for 6 months.

The way you ask for an appointment is also very important. Don't be pushy or too eager to schedule an appointment. Be enthusiastic but not desperate or pushy. Here are some lines I use:

  1. “I am fully scheduled with demos but how does 3pm sound?” or “I have to do 6 demos a day can I see you at 3 pm?” or ''I have three scheduled demos but need one for 3 pm or how will 11am be for you?''

This create the sense that your time is of value. In my industry we also use: ''we get points for every demo''.

  1. Also if you push too hard for the appointment and don't give them a chance to say no, you set yourself up for cancellation.

  2. You must feel in your gut that they are committed to see you, if you are not sure, keep them as a back-up, then get another solid appointment.

The way you can ''feel'' if they are not commited is when they say: ''OK we will see'' or ''come around then'' or ''confirm with me 30 minutes prior'' or ''just come by anytime'', all these are cancellations in progress situations. Not always but too often to bargain on them.

Sometimes we are so happy to hear them say yes to an appointment we don't ''hear'' them say they really don't want to see us.

I rather have one solid appointment than two shaky ones.

An appointment is only an appointment if you have a confirmed time, date, name, address and the prospect is the decision maker who is willing to see you at an agreed time.

Regards GF