Passing the baton of knowledge

I am super excited today and wanted to share it with someone. My one son who is still at school will start working in a sales position with me on his holidays.

I am 24 years in direct sales and marketing and have been an authorised distributor for only two companies for all these years.

I shared some financial numbers with both my sons (both seniors in high school) and one of them is super excited. We had two consecutive best years in business by the grace of God. We already made our year's turnover target by the end of October this year and we already beat last year which was our best year in five years!

I told my sons I will give them an opportunity to get involved in the business and make some serious money. It's not about the money but for me it is what they will learn and who they will become. What I want to teach them is what I learned in 24 years in sales and marketing.

The following few years will hopefully be a foundation for them, learning about discipline and work ethics. Learning about marketing and sales directly in the field.

I think it is a huge advantage for them for their future, no matter what direction they may go in. What they will hopefully learn will help them in any area of their lives and careers.

For me it's a huge privilege to teach my sons. Obviously I am not going to force anyone of them to get involved in the business, I am just super excited to share my knowledge with them.

I pray they will follow-through with positive action and become the great men I know they can be.

Regards GF