Emo Girl 01: Procreate Drawing

I used my standard process on this one. Started off as traditional pencil and ink in my Stillman & Birn sketchbook. I was testing out a new Kuretake Zig Cocoiro Letter Pen for inking and wasn't happy with the result even though I liked the overall composition, so it was off to Procreate for another pass. I'm undecided on the Zig Cocoiro. Inking wasn't its intended use but the stiff, fine point brush tip does offer some nice line variation; I just feel like I'm going to break it every time I push down a little harder.

I usually lay down some very rough shading before adding any color. If I do a good enough job with the shading in black and white, then I'll just use this as a multiply blending layer on top of flat color layers (like I did here), as opposed to adding shadows using darker tones of color. I think this one may be better in black and white, but I'm not mad at the time I spent adding some color.