Mindful wealth

Alright, here goes. The first entry. I'll start with explaining why I'm writing. Since 2016 I started working for a high growth company. With that came substantial financial benefits because of the equity that came with my offer, this has allowed me to save and invest. But most importantly it has taught me valuable lessons about personal finance and life in general. I realize now that – in the past – I spent most of my money on stuff that didn't really matter in life. Hopefully I can share some things here that will help you avoid the mistakes I made or maybe influence your take on life and building wealth in a positive way.

Looking back I can clearly see how I totally mismanaged my finances. Even though I didn't have a comparable income back then I still made a good amount of money, about €65.000 annually after tax ($97.948 CAD). After six years I had not much not to show, I had about €25.000 in cash when I transitioned into my new job. Over the last three years my wife and I have not really increased our lifestyle this has allowed us to save and invest most of our income. Now, I'm well aware that I'm lucky with the high income that I have. I realize that most people are not in this position but even for lower income people I think these learnings can be valuable.

Here are some things you can expect from this journal:

My goal is to write (this is also an exercise in writing) every week, around the weekend. Next post I'll share our current financial standing and what some of my goals are. The goals are not fully fleshed out but will evolve over time. Both my wife and I are from Europe and currently live in Ontario, Canada. This influences some of our long term goals as we don't really know where will live in the future since both of our families also live in Europe.

Thanks for coming along the ride.

If you want to connect shoot me a message at mindfulandwealthy@gmail.com

#personal #finance #investing #wealth