Why I Buy Bad Domain Names (And You Do Too)

Photo by Leonid Mamchenkov

I have approximately 60 domain names. Some are in use now. A few will be used once I flesh out a concept. The rest, well, are bad domain names.

Here are some examples I quickly skimmed from my pile:

dollarstorediner.com flowplow.com flowsquall.com stimforthe.win whirrk.com

I told you they are bad. Over the years, I've let many expire. If I calculated how much money I've spent on bad domain names over the years, the total would probably make me weep.

(I know I'm not alone on this either. You readers that fit in the creative, entrepreneurial psychographic have your own stash of bad domain names).

To Register or Not to Register

After reading April Lane Benson's book on chronic shopping, I've come to realize that my domain name buying is a form of overshopping not unlike compulsive spending at the mall or collecting LEGO kits. My rationalizations vary depending on the domain name. I often rationalize that it will be taken by someone else if I don't register it right away. I've also been known to register domain names to protect an idea I'm working on from being copied.

But what about bad domain names like the ones I listed above? These are domain names that no one would ever want. What rationalization did I possibly use to buy them? When I look back and analyse what happened, I realize there was no rationalization beforehand or even justification afterwards.

These purchases were purely emotional. An act of desperation. It's my way of sabotaging the process so I can get some temporary relief and resolution.

I'll explain: thinking of a good domain name that aligns with your idea is easy. Thinking up a good dot com domain name that aligns with your idea and that isn't already registered? That is hard. The cognitive load is akin to carrying a big unwieldy boulder in your arms. By making a decision and finalizing it with a purchase, I get to put the boulder down. My mind can stop it's vexing wordplay (and get a soothing hit of serotonin) when I click the buy now button.

Aftershock

Looking back at those particular (mis)purchases, I recall there were no lasting feelings of elation afterwards. That's reserved for when I purchase actual good domain names. With bad domain names, the relief dissipates quickly, sometimes within a few minutes of purchase, and cognitive dissonance sets in.

I realize the domain name is unworkable, and the vexing wordplay begins anew.


Thanks for reading this rather rough draft by Jason Comely. If you're into introspection, mind hacks and the like, consider subscribing to my newsletter.