July 20, 2020

Day 44: Count your Blessings

For the most part, my morning walks are normally full of excitement and anticipation of what I will encounter along my trail. But there are some days that my walk feels like drudgery and well meaningless. Today happened to be one of those kind of mornings.

Part ways through I started being thankful for various things: Another day to get out of bed, to be able to see, to smell, to touch, to walk with my dog and even reflected on past things I had experienced over the years on my path. As I traveled on, my thoughts went to a neighbor who has been struggling with a cough for several weeks. I let her know I was thinking of her. This opened the door to thoughts of others I knew that could use prayer or encouragement.

Funny, when I changed the focus from myself to being thankful and thinking and praying for others, my disposition changed dramatically. My day ended up being a rather nice day for a Monday!

When upon life’s billows you are tempest-tossed, When you are discouraged thinking all is lost, Count your many blessings; name them one by one, And it will surprise you what the Lord has done.

#100daystooffload