July 26, 2020

Day 45: A Gentle Reminder

On my Facebook feed quite often I see pictures of the past: a year ago, two years ago, etc. Last year at this time I had taken a picture of a (walnut caterpillar) I had spotted on my walk that looked like it was hanging in mid air. In reality it was on an unseen string and it was struggling to go back up to the tree to eat more leaves. Since then I have observed these critters and yes they completely deleaf trees especially when there is a bunch of them.

Earlier this month while on a early morning walk I just about walked into several strings of these caterpillars in my path. Naturally, I took a picture.

Today on my morning travels, I saw a string with two working their way up to a tree. Each time of seeing these, its always been when I’ve been facing a struggle of my own and trying to climb out of a mess or overcome an obstacle. The thought that stirred today is, you are not alone! The thought, “we’re all in this together,” came to mind but an even greater thought was, no matter how difficult the struggle we face we are not alone. There is one greater that comes alongside to walk with us. In this case,”hang with us”. To those who know Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior, they are never alone in this world. He is our constant companion, a good listener, our hope, our encouragement. He is our song, our peace, our purpose, our joy. He is our security, our identity and in Him, we are accepted.

Yes these caterpillars show up at strange times for sure, but I also believe at least for today they were serving a “higher” purpose.

#100daystooffload