July 13, 2020

Day 37 How’s your roots?

I’m sure different ones would say what roots are you talking about June? Hair roots, family tree roots? Where are you going with roots?

Root systems are something I have been pondering the past week or two and yesterday the sermon at church talked about the sower and the seed. Since my husband is a farmer there is lots of talk about soil, nutrients, rain and the lack there of. Since we have experienced a total opposite weather pattern from last year with its wet, wet and more wet, this year has been dry, dry and pretty much dry with a blessed couple of showers thrown in. My husband and I had a discussion not too long ago about when is a good time to plant crops? On the side of wet or on the side of dryer conditions? He said to plant dryer. He generally tries to put the seed in deep enough moisture so that if there isn’t a rain there is still some moisture there for the seed to germinate and grow. For both corn and soy beans you want a good hardy root system. One way for that to be established is during dry weather. Roots grow towards moisture as most would know. Dry spells force root systems to become better because they grow down and deep tapping into moisture and nutrients in the soil.

On the flip side of that, soils that are really wet make for shallow root systems that are just below the surface. When hot dry weather comes, its really difficult for the crops to withstand the difficult conditions. They dry out, are susceptible to different diseases and subject to unhealthy plants which produce lower yields.

As I watch the crops grow in the fields, I’ve begun to apply this to my life and how I take care of my mental, emotional, physical and spiritual root systems. Do I have shallow roots that cause me to be diseased and have “root rot” or do I cultivate good things go through dry, faith growing seasons that make my roots strong? It is an every day choice and challenge.

Here’s to a good growing season!

#100daystooffload