May 12, 2020

Day 17: Practice makes...almost perfect

It has been said most things learned at an early age are easier. For example a musical instrument or a foreign language. Sometimes later is better than never.

I always admired those who could play the piano. I had come from a mostly instrumental family, and my husbands family was even more so. Piano was a way of life in his household . So as our children grew up, we had them take piano lessons. Somewhere in the course of our second child taking lessons and our third child coming along, I decided to take up piano.

Let me tell you simply, that 16+ years into lessons I am by no means accomplished. I cannot accompany anyone, but what I can do with practice is play most any music I sit In front of me. This has not come easy. Finding time to diligently practice as an adult is challenging. Especially if some of the pieces are hard and you would rather do anything rather than work on those troubled spots or pieces. One valuable lesson that I have learned is that the more one practices and keeps at it, the better one gets. It’s the over and over again making yourself do when it would be easier to give up. Isn’t that how it is with most of life?

We all find we have trouble areas in our lives. It takes work to overcome habits we don’t like. Yet there is a satisfaction that comes when you work at things long enough, breakthrough happens.

I will never be an accomplished pianist. But I can play for relaxation and enjoyment. With that said, I think its been well worth the pain, frustration, struggle and overcoming to get where I am. Able to read music and play piano.

#100daystooffload