May 13, 2020

Day 18: Random

There is a children’s book that I read to my children as they were growing up called , “Grandpa’s Teeth” by Rod Clement. I won’t spoil the full content of the book but lets just say the context of the book reminds me of these days finding new normal in the midst of a pandemic and how easy it is to become suspicious of everyone we come in contact with. Do they have Covid 19? Am I a carrier? Do I wear a mask? Do I not wear a mask? Personally I always associated mask wearing with either Dr.s or thieves. Another problem I have with masks is I read lips. I’m hard of hearing and learned several years ago to focus on people’s lips. When someone’s lips are covered, its pretty hard to read.

Grandpa has lost his dentures and believes he’s been robbed. While the family and police search the town, grandpa has become skeptical of everyone he meets wondering if they are wearing his teeth. The people of the town smile big to assure grandpa they don’t have his teeth. After visiting the police station and going on Unsolved Crimes, it seems the thief was rather very close. It wasn’t until his dog smiled that the thief was revealed.

There are a lot of uncertainties of what our future holds with this pandemic. For the mean time we protect ourselves, and look out for the needs of others. We learn to work through our difficulties. After all, We are all in this together.

#100daystooffload