Thank You Awesome People

Isn't it an amazing feeling, when you cross paths with an exceptional person along your journey exactly when you need it? Or even better, exactly when the world needs it? Whatever the outcome, from a happily ever after to a lifetime friendship or the dose of inspiration you need in a given moment of your life, these whims of fate that bring you in touch with the right person at the right time, are definitely something to be thankful for.

Today I want to take part in the Coil Gratitude Challenge and express how thankful I am for all those that have somehow marked, shaped, helped, taught, or inspired me to be a better person. And I wish to do so by sharing my latest experience of this kind just over the last few days.

On May 31st, a tropical storm (Amanda) hit my home country El Salvador, killing 27 people and damaging as many as 30,000 homes. As the storm arrived in the middle of a strict lockdown (El Salvador has some of the strictest measures in place in the world, even suspending public transport), its effect on thousands of families already deprived of their daily income was much more demoralizing and devastating than any storm or hurricane we have had in the past (and we've had quite a few).

The impact of having a pandemic and a tropical storm hit us at the same time made many families to go out to the side of the streets waving white flags, to ask for aid for those transiting through. A desperate cry for help that started soon after the lockdown and became a common scene throughout the country due to the storm, as if we are at war against nature:

https://twitter.com/ajplus/status/1266088910104510466?s=20

I don't live in El Salvador right now, but in my networks, I started seeing and hearing about efforts from friends, family and contacts raising funds to help families that were impacted by the pandemic and the storm. I don't think I have ever seen so many initiatives being launched in parallel in my country.

I truly believe in the power of social media, so I started sharing in my socials about the different fundraisers launched by people I know and fully trust, including this GoFundMe initiative started by my aunt and my cousins to help two families rebuild their homes after losing everything to tropical storm Amanda.

https://twitter.com/rramentoll/status/1268471513906327553?s=20

I was moved by the awesome response by my friends in the XRP Community towards that campaign as they had 0 doubt (pun intended) to help with donations, retweets, and words of support.

I was blown away specially by one of those exceptional persons I've had the pleasure to come across with during our XRP journey, who took an extra step and reached out to know more about what had happened, and immediately motivated me to take further action while offering their generous support to help more affected families with their immediate needs and to help them get back on their feet.

We started exchanging and putting a plan in place with several ideas in mind, for both short and mid term as the economy slowly opens up again, and shortly after this amazing person generously sent funds my way to help give this mini project a go.

I remembered that a few days earlier, my sister told me she had raised funds with her friends and had sent them to my parents so they could help some of the families impacted. I told my friend about it and we quickly decided to join forces, so I sent the funds to my parents in El Salvador.

Altogether, we raised enough to prepare basic consumer good baskets for four families that would help them for the following two weeks. Each basket contained food like soups, pasta, corn flour, beans, oil and also items like soap, detergent, tooth paste, matches and hand disinfectant, all bought in small shops to also support them.

Preparing to deliver to the families.

The positive impact of the funds sent to El Salvador was double as the groceries were purchased in small local shops.

The man with the red had is my dad, delivering the much needed help to one of the families.

The baskets, delivered in the outskirts of the city of Santa Ana to four families that have been severely impacted by the economic downturn, are what is known as a RAK (Random Act of Kindness) since they did not expect anyone to come and help them. As there are no social programs in place in countries like El Salvador for these crisis, and these families have been cut off their incomes and the possibility to work, RAKs are all these families can count on.

This was awesome teamwork involving people living in different countries -and continents, even- where not everyone knows each other but it didn't stop them to work hand in hand to help those who need it the most. The baskets were delivered to the families on father's day in El Salvador (June 17th), hoping this could bring hope and relief to dads struggling to provide for their families in these difficult situations.

For the next phase of the project, we are aiming to come up with more sustainable support for these families that achieves more than covering basic, immediate needs.

To all the awesome people going out of their way to help those in need and to inspire others to take action: Thank you (and please never stop crossing paths in this journey).

Header Photo by Kevin Gent on Unsplash

This mini project has just gotten started, and the sky is the limit. If you'd like to help don't hesitate to reach out to me on Twitter!

Continue reading with a Coil membership.