Writing

I've always liked writing. Back in high school we would have to do essays, and while they were cumbersome, it was my favorite part of being in school. Of course I didn't realize it at the time, but I do now.

For the past three years I've studied Computer Science, a student climate I've come to dislike. I miss being able to express myself, criticize stuff or elaborate on my interests and beliefs. I do express myself vocally to my peers, but I find that the people I study with dont have the same mindset and passions as I do. Thats not to say that they are not interesting people, I'm just pointing out that I feel a bit like an outsider here.

I see programming as a creative outlet, and while I might be able to express my views through programming, I would put myself liable to lawsuits (I think). I'm an advocate of free information, and information for all. With programming you have the power to express yourself and also prove a point. With writing, you only have the power to express yourself. Unless you blow up, people can just ignore what you say, and thats the beauty of it.

I've gone tired of discussing matters on sites like reddit. The discussion climate really has gone downhill, and I think part of the reason why is that the only people you're going to discuss your opinion with, are people with a strong opinion on the exact opposite view. Rarely will you see people agreeing with you hop into the comments and discuss it peacefully just for the sake of exchanging ideas. No, what you'll see is people attacking one another because they think the other person is wrong, and I believe that is because only the people annoyed with your statement will enter a discussion on the matter.

Why am I talking about this? Well, because for the last couple of years, reddit has been my main writing platform. What I've come to realize is that I kept on writing a lot after high school, but it now drains me because it attracts the opposite of the people I want to engage with. I would like to emphasize that I'm not advocating for a safe space, I'm advocating for a better debate climate.

I think I want to change my main writing outlet to something more neutral, like (hopefully) write.as. I want to be able to share thoughts without it being seen as an invitation to debate the matter. I would love to discuss a lot of them, but I'm so tired of trolls on the internet, so from now on I think I'll stick to discussing them in person.