There is something beautiful with minimalism

I run into this new trend of minimalism. It is a life style with the goal to have as little possessions as necessary. The lack of stuff and clutter in your life should provide you with a freedom. A freedom from the burden that all of this puts on you. I have looked at this from a far for a while but never really investigated the phenomenon.

I am a hoarder. I have stuff, a lot of stuff. But in the same time I am not afraid of throwing things away or sell them. I seldom have a strong emotional connection to stuff. You've probably been asked what the one thing you could safe from a fire would be. I wouldn't risk it. I would stay outside and watch it all burn. Yes, of course, there are some things inherited that I would miss since they are, in a way, the only connection to that lost kin. And maybe some clothes and memories from when the kids where small. But everything else can be replaced.

Lately I have started to question myself; why? Why do I continue buying stuff. The next shiny toy is always on the horizon. If I order it before noon, it will arrive already tomorrow. By noon the day after it will have lost most of its shine. All this stuff doesn't make me happier. I have some fun with it. But it doesn't make me more happy. It gives me guilt. Guilt because I'm spending money on unnecessary toys. Toys that doesn't give any real lasting value. Guilt because my behaviour is destroying the planet for my own and future generations.

Would I be able to become a minimalist. Probably not. I have a to comfortable life. But I could probably be more minimalistic. But how would I do that? And what can I loose? What if I'd need the things in the future? There are so many questions and so few good answers. One way to go could be to simply stop buying more stuff. No, not a thing. Just the normal day-to-day things. Grocery. Consumables.

What about virtual things. I hoard there too. I have tons of services that I use on somewhat regular basis. I buy new apps. Is minimalism only for physical stuff. Would my life be easier and more happy if I'm only becoming a physical minimalist. Can you even be a digital minimalist today?

A questions brings so many questions. But a lot of it boils down to they why. Why would I want to be minimalist? What would be the reason? And for me that would be that it would provide freedom and happiness. But what if it doesn't work?

— muxlix