What is work

I struggle with the definition of work. What does work really mean?

The Cambridge Dictionary defines the word “work” as:

an activity, such as a job, that a person uses physical or mental effort to do, usually for money

In my life work is most often about mental effort. I rarely get sweaty pressing the keys on the computer. But there is also a pretty big scope for what could be defined as work.

Some time ago I went to a conference. It was not a big thing. A couple of hundred people with the same interests got together and speakers discussed to topic in grave detail. This conference where in between my professional part of life and my private life. But still this would be considered work since I used a great deal of mental effort to absorb the content.

I also thought a lot lately about how to prioritize different things in my life. I have started to realize that I don't have to do or fulfill all dreams I believe I should do or think other people expects me to do. I need to find the tools and strategies to do this differently. In a way where I am in control.

Weekend is coming quickly now – only one more day of activities where physical or mental effort is needed.

—muxlix