Aim for Discipline, Not Perfection

It's almost 10pm here in this part of the world, and I'm over here recovering after just utterly destroying my diet streak of over 30 days. After successfully adapting my body to a carnivore diet over the past month and experiencing amazing results, I then “ruined it” by eating an entire medium pizza, a handful of cinnamon twists, a piece of tres leche cake, and two glasses of red wine. Why would I do that when I was doing so well? Simple, it was my dad's birthday and I wanted to celebrate being able to spend another day with him on this Earth.

Will I suffer some consequences from this decision in the short term? Most likely yes. I already feel bloated, my sinuses are clogging up with mucus, and I can feel my longtime nemesis acid reflux creeping up. But that's the thing, it was still my decision. I didn't do this expecting nothing to happen, oblivious and giving in to temptation. I knew exactly what was going to happen, but I accepted the trade offs because I knew that one day wouldn't kill me or remove all my progress, and that I have enough discipline to get right back to my diet tomorrow.

Discipline is one of the greatest tools that any human has in their arsenal. With it, a man can transform his body, his mind or even transform the entire world. But discipline is simply a goal, and no one on this planet can realistically succeed at it every single day (and that's totally okay!) That's really not the point. Every day presents new and interesting challenges, and sometimes you just want to take it easy and simply enjoy yourself and indulge. Life is short, and as long you don't forget why you started in the first place, you'll be right back to crushing it the next morning.

In the end, the person who hits their goal 99/100 times will always beat out the one who never tries because they can't achieve perfection.