Carbs Ain’t All That

If you’re a loyal reader of mine then you probably already know that I’ve been on a carnivore diet for almost two months now. In that time I’ve had plenty of ups and downs, which I plan to further expand upon in future posts. Lately I’ve been really enjoying just eating steak and beef liver pretty regularly. It’s both filling and quite satisfying to the palate. Tonight for my one meal I decided to have steak along with some rice, a banana, guava, tomato, and some white bread to see just how much I was missing. Spoiler Alert: I didn’t miss much...

While I was enjoying the variety of flavors compared to just meat at first, after all was said and done I really didn’t feel as satisfied. The rice was heavy but I didn’t feel full. The banana and guava were a nice treat and I liked the sugar but it’s not something I need to eat everyday. When I eat a big meal of just beef, I end up feeling stuffed and ready to hit the hay. It primes my body for rest so it can process all the lovely vitamins, minerals, protein, and fat. While I definitely missed and craved carby foods early on, I think that I’ve finally reached the point where my addiction to them is mostly broken.

Will I ever eat carbs again? Of course! I’m not a buzzkill who will turn down delicious food, especially if someone else goes through the trouble of making it for me. The difference that going carnivore has made is that now I have a real choice in the matter and decide when I want to treat myself. Food is no longer an obsession or entertainment, but a conscious decision about my health and respecting my body.

Next up on my carnivore journey? Trying authentic A5 wagyu beef imported straight from Japan. Is it the best tasting meat in the world? Be on the lookout for my thoughts on that very soon.