Sorry Coffee, But It's Just Not Working Out

I really thought this time was going to be different between us, I really did. After all, they say the third time's the charm. The first time we got together things were good between us. You energized me, kept me focused, and provided me with an easy way to stay ketogenic. After awhile, though, I started to notice the toxic nature of our relationship. It was subtle, but after a few months I realized that you were wearing me down and I could do better on my own. So I made the right decision and put myself first and we didn't interact for years, except brief sips here and there. The second time was just a fling and we both know it was a mistake that isn't even worth discussing. But today was the last straw...

We've only been together again for a week and I'm already feeling like crap thanks to your influence. The first few days were fine and I thought this was actually going to work. You promised me that things would be easier now that you went decaf since the last time I saw you. “A little bit can't hurt, right? Plus, think of all the benefits I can offer you, baby!” And yes, you did offer me an easy way to get stronger by being a vessel for adding more fat, salt, and collagen into my all meat diet. I thought there were no downsides with our arrangement, but I was so wrong. As the week went on I became more sluggish, tired, my weight loss stalled, and my digestion got progressively worse.

I didn't see you over the weekend and felt better, but I didn't connect the dots. That was until today, when your bad influence made itself evidently clear. After finishing off our usual cup, I could tell something was off. I was anxious and distracted and kept making mistakes I normally wouldn't. I was sending messages to the wrong chats, my social skills were sub par, and my anxiety was higher than it has been in months. In addition, my bladder was uncontrollable and I think even my kidneys started to hurt. Worst of all, my willpower weakened and I almost made some pretty poor decisions. Yet throughout this experience, the only constant variable here was... you.

So I'm sorry, but this is it for us. We had a good run, but I can't keep letting you do this to me. I want my life back, I want to feel my best and I can't do that with you around, no matter how much you say you've changed. So farewell, I hope you find someone else. Which honestly won't be hard since 90% of the planet is addicted to you or your sister. Tomorrow my old life with pure aqua returns, just like God intended.