Andrew's Request: Coldplay

Why hello there, it's been awhile since I did one of these articles, hasn't it? The other night, I was looking at an old video I posted on Cinnamon and I noticed Andrew had left a nice comment. We had a little exchange the two of us:

“Oh no!” I screamed out loud and ran into the bedroom and woke my wife up.

Source

“Babe, wake up!”

“Wha... What is it Nick?!? Are the kids alright?”

“Yeah, yeah they're are fine, although I think Emmett just woke up from my yelling...” I tried to catch my breath as my wife sat up in bed with an urgent look as she waited for me to finish my thought. I let a slow breath out as I explained, “I totally flaked and forgot to do a cover of 'Coldplay' for Andrew!”

My wife then proceeded to gut me.

The headstone would read, “Here lies NickelNDime, he thought it was a good idea to wake his wife up after she pulled a 12 hour shift at the hospital.”

In all seriousness, I did see that comment on Tuesday and felt bad that I had totally forgot about it. Andrew never specified which song from, 'Coldplay' he wanted to hear, so I picked, “Fix You.” I listened to it a couple of times, and got a feel for the song. I recorded it yesterday while my wife took our two little ones on a walk. The conversation went like this before she left...

“Please clean the kitchen, and clean the cat litter downstairs.”

“Okay, I will.”

“I mean it Nick, no screwing around on the computer or playing computer”

“Okay fine!”

When she left, I sulked to the closet to get the cleaning supplies when I saw my guitar out of the corner of my eye...

...it was sitting next to the computer.

Source

...I'm only human. I grabbed my guitar and got to work!

By the time I got the recording software, camera software, and microphone checks done, there was only time for one or two takes. If truth be told, I liked the other take a little more because it had more energy or life to it, however one of the strings slipped out of tune while I was playing so the guitar sounded awful by the end of that recording, so I went with this recording. I'm still pretty happy with the recording I went with.

Take a listen!

https://www.cinnamon.video/watch?v=335212562666751260

Thanks for the request Andrew! It was a blast to learn this tune, and now when I'm gigging out and someone requests a 'Coldplay' song, I won't have to pretend like I didn't hear them. If you guys don't follow Andrew on Cinnamon, you should. He puts out some pretty humorous videos from time to time.

On last thing. Since bars around here are not rushing to get live entertainment back just yet, feel free to make a request. It's always fun to figure out songs I don't know, and arrange them into something I find enjoyable to play. Just tag me on Twitter, and make a request. If it's something I can use when I play out, I'll take a look at it.

Until next time,

NickelNDime Out!

If you want to read up on my arrangement of this tune, you'll need a subscription to Coil.

Continue reading with a Coil membership.