Blackbird – Fingerpicking Lesson – 2

Lesson 1

Before you go, “Wait, the first lesson was on August 14, what gives?” Well, let me explain. I wrote this lesson during a renovation of my home, and totally forgot about it! As I was scrolling through all my unpublished articles, I stumbled across this one and realized, “Oh yeah, I remember this!”

Why are so concerned about where I've been, what are you writing a book about me?

“Where the hell is NickelNDime? He's so much funnier and better looking than Gallagher.” – What I imagine goes through my reader's heads when they haven't heard from me in awhile.

* Just in case you didn't get that reference Gallagher was a comic from the late 70's early 80's that smashed fruit on stage.

Anyway, let's pick up where we left off, the second picking pattern.

1) The first step is to play through the last part. When you get to the last picking part, where your 1st finger is on the 2nd fret, and your 4th finger is on the 3rd fret, DO NOT TAKE YOUR HAND OFF!!!

2) You're going to slide your fret hand until your 1st finger is on the 10th fret, and your 4th finger is on the 12th fret. This step requires practice all on it's own, so make sure you take the time to be able to transition between the two positions comfortably. The good news is that's all your fret hand will have to do during this section. The bad news, the picking hand gets a little more intricate during this section.

Set Up for Picking Hand:

Thumb rest on the 5th string.

Pointer rest on the 3rd string.

Middle rest on the 2nd string.

Ring rest on the 1st string.

The picking pattern is as such:

Pinch* – Pointer – Middle – Thumb – Pointer – Middle

*Pinch = Thumb and Middle at the same time.

That pattern is played twice.

The Rhythm:

The count of this picking pattern has some 16th notes so lets break it down.

| 1 + ah 2 e + |

Remember the numbers are the down beat. If you have difficulty hearing the rhythm, listen to and count it here:

https://cinnamon.video/watch?v=398517554630362249

If you have any questions feel free to reach out to me!

NickelNDime Out!

Continue reading with a Coil membership.