We've had a phenomenal fall of snow in the last 12 hours. We woke up to a winter wonderland of a back garden, and it's kept on going throughout the day to leave a pretty heavy coat that looks like it's going to be frozen in place over night. My cold has shaken itself off over the weekend, but I've been house-bound again today as a result of the snow and am starting to feel the cabin fever.

One of the things I've found to occupy my time is to install Manjaro Linux on my main laptop – first to try i3 as a window manager, but then adding in KDE Plasma desktop to have a tinker with as well. First impressions of both were: i3 is pretty cool, very bare bones and customisable but overall probably not a daily driver; KDE is tons better than it used to be and is very likely to remain as my home desktop for a while. It's hugely configurable – which is a breath of freash air after the restrictive approach that GNOME has taken in recent years – and has a nice suite of out-of-the-box apps that make it immediately useful if you're not much of a tinkerer. KMail is a good mail client and setting up the whole Kontact suite to sync up with my Nextcloud details was very quick and easy. As long as you kan konquer any kriticisms of every bloody app starting with a 'K', it's definitely worth giving it a spin.

More to come in a week or so when I've had some time to settle in and get used to it.