Secluded Waterfall #TravelStories

I remember the sweet smell of fresh nature surrounding our every sight. The sound of scattering water from the triumph in the distance. When I jumped out of the black pick-up, a soft breeze almost knocked me over. The cans of beer we'd consumed during the ride through the vivid jungle interfered with my basic motor skills. My cousin moved into the direction of the local woman and her little girls. They smiled. While I tried to locate our current being, one of the girls pulled my arm, and whispered some Spanish words.

''Coconuts for sale'' - my cousin conveyed, while he laughed.

Her beautiful tinted skin, and dark brown hair floating in the tender air, had taken my eyes off the object she was holding in her right hand. A fresh coconut prepared with purple straw. I kindly accepted. We all enjoyed one of the tasty products of nature, as we took five.

So far it had been a dreamy day. Left the big villa on the waterfront in the early morning. Sun rise drew upon my definition of aesthetics. My uncle and aunt had enjoyed its infinite occurrence on the main terrace, while we, the youth, filled our bellies with egg white protein. Water bugs bouncing on the rhythm determined by the fisherman's boats. When I looked to the right I could see the river debouch into the Caribbean Sea. Palm trees all around. For me this particular vibe was on a whole nother level. Ever since my friend and I had arrived in the Central Americas, my family did everything in their power to transcend our young minds into the sublime state of Nirvana. The absolute authenticity and depth of our experiences preceded any imaginative scenario we could ever hope for. Perfection's definition was never the same..

After about 20 minutes on the boat, we arrived at a traditional fish restaurant. We were early, so our transportation made us wait among the farm animals. I remember how my cousin challenged the happy goose with a stick. The Dorada Ice beers tasted perfect. Our creative spirits merged with the reality of our situation. GoPro and the animals resulted in our interpretation of

Eventually the pick-up arrived. My uncle and aunt in the front, while we were seated like Mexican hitchhikers. The nature all around was nothing short of a miracle. When I think back of this fabulous place, I often mistake it for Avatar's Pandora. The saturation of the green grass absorbed our minds. Monkeys in the distance. Our destination would be this secret waterfall. A place that still wasn't overcrowded, and turned into an Instagram hot spot. Its secluded location sure made it hard to reach. There were some others, but, I mean, having a truly magical place like this almost entirely for oneself shouldn't be acknowledged as just an ''okay'' occurrence. Blueish water splashing onto the ancient rocks. The little bay in the middle of nowhere seemed as it could've been the inspiration for Lion King's – Can You Feel The Love scene.

We jumped. We played. After a while we got acquainted with the Hot Springs on top. The warm water freely floated between my finger tops. Sitting down, taking a deep breath, and all my anxiety faded instantly.

The next few hours we entertained ourselves around the waterfall. Which wasn't that hard. After all, my aunt had brought her cooling bag filled with beers. We were literally in the middle of the jungle. Various animals and insects communicated their presence to us. We came here in peace, but, we were not to forget that we were the guests..

Btw, a fun (actually not so fun) fact, my friend recently looked up the waterfall online. The place has turned into a well known tourist-hot-spot, and many people visit it daily to capture the perfect Insta shot;) I'm not saying that tourism is all bad, but it has to be managed properly. Unfortunately, most economies that are depended on tourism (not insinuating that Guatemala is depended on tourism) prove themselves to be impotent, when it comes to preservation of the Wonders of their soils ..

Coil Subscribers have access to some of the pictures taken that day;)

Continue reading with a Coil membership.