Cinderella Sample Scene

The castle is breathtaking. The blue spire-topped marble towers gleam in the midday sun, with an ethereal like shimmer to it all. It's almost as if it was plucked straight from a fantasy book.

You crack a small smile at your handiwork. You wondered if all this was necessary when you first started making the damn thing, but right now, standing on the bridge to the castle, flanked by unnaturally green shrubs, you think it just might have been.

You're going to meet Cinderella. Since you conjured her and the castle, you haven't been able to visit her as much as you hoped.

From what you gathered, Cinderella hasn't fully adapted to the life of a princess yet. No worries, you'll iron out the kinks in do time.

You're led in by the head butler to the great hall, after making sure you're comfortable, he quicky scurries off with the promise of bringing Cinderella to you.

Minutes pass before you hear hurried tip-taps of heels hitting the hardwood floor of the great halls. You turn to see the source of the sounds, but you only get a small glance before being forced into a bear-hug. You have a good idea as to who this might be.

“It's good to see you too, Cindy.”

She lets go of you, “Where have you been? You left me all alone!” She says with a mock pout.

“No, I didn't. You have Merlin and Candy for company,” You say with a smirk.

“Merlin and Candy!? Merlin's a huge bore and all Candy does is stay in the kitchen all day,” She says, now with a bit of genuine anger, it seems.

“Alright, alright. I'm sorry, I'll try and visit more often from now on,” You say with your hands held up, trying to calm her down a little.

“Well, alright. But that apology isn't good enough! To truly show you're sorry you have to go to the ball with me.”

“Wait, the ball? What ball?”

“The upcoming ball silly. Didn't Merlin tell you?” She says this like it's information you should already know.

“Oh, it'll be wonderful! Lords and ladies in fancy, colorful dresses. Delicious and exotic foods from all over the world as far as the eye can see,” She says with a glint in her eye.

“I always heard my step-sisters talking about them. Since then I wanted to go to one so bad and I finally get to! In my own castle no less!” She practically squeals in delight.

Step-sisters? Hm, you don't remember giving her that much backstory. You probably added it in by accident, yes, that's probably it.

“Oh please, oh please, you have to go with me!” She begs you, doing her best impression of a crying puppy.

“I'm sorry Cindy, I can't, I don't know how to dance.”

It's true, all the cosmic powers one can dream of, yet you cannot dance. Sad really.

“Dance?” She looks at you perplexed.

“Yes, dance. You know, the thing people do at balls.”

“Ah... I...I cannot dance,” She says looking down, barely above a whisper.

She starts sobbing, “No! NO! How can I go to the ball if I cannot dance!? I finally got a chance to go to a real ball and it's ruined!” She cries out.

You hug her, “Hey, hey. It's ok.” You say softly, “I can teach you.”

“Teach me? Of course! You can teach me!” She says, pulling back, with a wide smile on her face. Seemingly not noticing your earlier remark about not knowing how to dance.

Well, great. It looks like you'll have to learn how to dance now. Still, it doesn't seem that bad. If you can conjure castles and princesses from thin air, learning how to dance won't be that hard, right? Right!?