Dexter Angelopoulos – Dating Profile Interview Script

PREAMBLE: Legend: INT – Scene takes place in an internal location. EXT – Scene takes place in an external location. FX – Effects (Audio/Visual). VO-FX – Voice-Over Effects. FADE IN/OUT – Transition.

– Scene description.

** – Mid-dialogue direction. Italics – Dialogue emphasis. DA – Dexter Angelopoulos shorthand. AS – Audience Stand-in shorthand. Characters: Dexter Dean Angelopoulos – Character VA: NaughtyMaus Audience Stand-in Scene 001: FADE IN:

INT: Mid-century drugstore – Evening.

FX: A store doorbell rings as two people open the door to the outside. Sounds of old cars permeate the store for a second.

Dexter enthusiastically waves at the couple leaving the store with their drinks.

DA: You two lovebirds have a great Valentine's Day now!

FX: The door to the store closes with a thud and one final ring of the doorbell.

Dexter idly wipes the counter, sighs, and mutters.

FX: Sounds of cloth being rubbed on polished wood.

DA: Sighs Seems like the old man left me to clean everything up aga—

The store door opens once again as someone new comes into the store.

FX: The same sounds of the door opening as before.

DA: Oh, hello. Sorry, but we're clos—

When Dexter looks up to see the new person that entered, he sees a disheveled-looking person that looks like they need a drink.

DA: …You okay, friend? You look haggard.

AS comes up to the counter.

AS: Had a rough day. Can I get a strawberry milkshake, please? With extra ice.

Dexter lights up at the request.

DA: Strawberry milkshake, comin' right up. We were just about to close, but I can see that you need it, so I'll make a special exception for ya.

Dexter begins to whip up a milkshake.

FX: Sounds of drink mixing.

Dexter speaks while preparing the drink.

DA: You wanna talk about what's bothering ya? I see something is.

AS smiles.

AS: Maybe later. What's your name?

DA: Name's Dexter. Dexter Dean Angelopoulos if you wanna be all fancy with it. Chuckles

DA: You?

AS: (Says their name)

DA: Nice name. Pleasure to meetcha. Haven't seen you around these parts before; new in town?

AS: Not exactly.

DA: Right… Well, here ya go.

Dexter passes the drink to AS.

FX: Sound of a glass hitting a wooden counter.

DA: One strawberry milkshake, heavy on the hail. My favorite.

AS takes a sip.

AS: That's a damn good milkshake.

Dexter smiles and lifts up his hat.

DA: Well, thank you kindly. Been doing this for a long time, so it better be good. Laughs

AS: How long is a long time?

Dexter puts his rag on his shoulder and thinks.

DA: Well… Let's see here. I remember coming in with my pops when I was 'round 5 – 6 and helping him out with odds and ends. I always enjoyed seeing him work the soda fountain.

DA: Then it just kinda happened from there. Somehow I became the soda jerker here whenever I wasn't in school or college.

AS: You went to college?

DA: Oh yeah. Studied medicine. My pops wanted me to run the family business someday.

AS: Do you?

DA: …What do you mean?

AS: That's what your father wants, what do you want?

DA: …Well, I, uh—

Dexter rubs the back of his neck.

DA: Nobody's ever asked me that before.

AS: So you don't want to take over the family business?

DA: No, I mean, it's not like that! It's not about me wanting the family business or not.

DA: It's just… Well…

AS takes a sip.

AS: Go on.

DA: Sighs I guess I want to experience more than the confines of a book or a drugstore. Be more than just “Dexter the Pharmacist.”

AS: What do you want to experience?

Dexter blushes and looks uncomfortable.

DA: I uh… I want to fall in love.

AS is surprised for a second.

AS: Oh, have you never been in love?

DA: …No. I've always just been told to focus on my studies, and that's what I did.

DA: And that didn't exactly leave me with time to pursue much else.

AS takes a sip.

AS: Okay. Well, imagine that I'm interested in you then. What would you say to me?

Dexter is surprised and blushes deeply.

DA: I— You!? Interested in me?

AS shrugs and smirks.

AS: Hypothetically.

Dexter calms down a little.

DA: Well… I don't know what I'd say. I've never talked to anyone that I fancied before, or anyone that fancied me for that matter. Wouldn't even know where to begin with flirting and all that.

DA: All I know of love is seeing the happy couples that come into our store from time to time.

Dexter smiles.

DA: Seeing how connected they are. How much they care for one another. I envy that, y'know?

DA: Soft chuckle Though I don't exactly get to dwell on those thoughts long 'cause my pops is almost always 'round to yell at me to mop the floor or tend the counters or some such.

AS: Tell me about yourself then. What you like, what you dislike.

AS leans in.

AS: What makes you, you?

Dexter thinks for a second.

DA: That's a hard question to answer… All I am is a small-town soda jerk. No matter what I may want, that's all I've ever been, to be honest.

AS: Really? Is that all you are?

DA: I guess… I guess some people in this world are born bold enough to be who they want to be, to catch their dreams and make them real.

DA: And others…are born into the background. Like me. Destined to look but never do.

DA: But maybe, just maybe, it's possible to change the way things are as well. I like to hope, anyway.

AS: I think it's possible. And I know you're more than just a soda jerk.

DA: I don't quite know, to be honest. I'm a simple man.

DA: I like sweet things and have a special place in my heart for strawberry and vanilla flavors. But some people would consider them boring.

DA: My favorite color is pink. What kind of man even likes pink?

AS shrugs.

AS: A man that likes pink. Nothing more, nothing less.

DA: I-I suppose. But…well, I do also like it because it's my lucky color.

AS: How so?

DA: Well, for one thing, I managed to catch two whole foul balls from my favorite baseball player Lou Gerigg while wearing my lucky pink shirt! Dunno 'bout you, but that's what I consider to be good luck.

AS: Chuckles Fair enough. And what about the stuff you hate? What makes your blood boil?

DA: I uh, I don't know if there's anything that makes my blood boil exactly. I'm not very prone to anger, unlike my father. Chuckles

DA: I guess I really hate messiness. Sticky messes, slippery messes, all messes are bad and inconvenient in my eyes.

DA: I suppose that is a tad ironic considering that my job is me working with sticky, messy drinks though! Gentle laugh

AS: Laughs

DA: I'm also not much of a fan of the loud music and gaudy clothing that is becoming popular these days. My father would get so angry when any 'hepcats' came to our store.

DA: But I don't mind, I suppose. It's just people having fun, I say. As long as I don't have to listen or dance to it, I don't mind. Though I doubt anyone would ask me to dance. I am a terrible dancer!

AS: Laughs Noted. I'll have to cross that off my list then.

AS: What else do you like? What do you do in your free time?

DA: Free time? Don't really get much of that, to be honest Laughs Uhm, I like reading and going to see romantic pictures. I love Gone with the Wind and Wuthering Heights!

DA: Picture films always make me feel so inspired. I've even thought of becoming a screenplay writer to create my own pictures one day! Though… I haven't had much time to pursue it.

AS: Huh, well, maybe we can go together sometime.

Dexter lights up.

DA: R-Really? You'd wanna go with me? Oh, woah, I would love that!

DA: Going to see a drive-in picture with some cozy blankets is the best.

AS smirks.

AS: Yeah. Cuddling under some blankets would be nice.

Dexter blushes deeply.

DA: I, uhm, yes. Cuddling under some blankets as the screen lights us would be wonderful.

AS: Where else would you take me if you had the chance?

DA: Where else? I would take you all around town! Or if you prefer, I would love to go on picnics out in the fields or go for a walk along the beach or park as well. Just…someplace where we can be alone and learn about each other.

AS smirks.

AS: Are you sure you don't want us to be alone for something else?

Dexter blushes and stammers.

DA: I— That's no—! I don't—!

AS laughs.

AS: I'm just messing with ya, big guy.

DA: Oh, hah. Good.

AS: Well what else do you do? You said you like reading, right?

DA: Yes! I love reading comic books. I collect 'em as well! Everything from Detective Comics to Famous Funnies, and even some from across the pond.

DA: A friend of mine works the general store. So, you will most likely find me there on my off days reading any new comics that he might have received.

DA: Oh! And of course, I enjoy making friends with the people that come into the store.

DA: You wouldn't think so, considering how shy I can be at times, but I am very good at lending an ear to weary folks and giving advice on their woes. I'd bet I have enough at this point to fill several books!

DA: Though, as it always is with those who give advice, I am the one that truly needs to follow them! Gentle laugh

AS: Laughs Good listener and self-aware. I'm surprised you haven't been snatched up yet.

Dexter blushes.

DA: Uhm, thank you.

AS: What else do you like?

DA: Well… Don't tell my pops, but uh, I may or may not have recently bought an Ariel Red Hunter motorcycle behind my parent's back. Been learning to tinker with it at home.

AS: Oh? You into motorcycles?

DA: Yes! I love motorcycles. I haven't had much time or money until recently to do anything more than admire the ones I see in magazines though. It almost feels unreal to have my own one now.

AS smirks.

AS: Maybe you can take me 'round town on it then.

Dexter blushes but tries to hold himself together.

DA: Well, uhm, just tell me where to pick you up.

AS: Laughs Gotten more confident, huh? I like it.

AS takes a sip of their drink.

AS: Tell me, Dexter. What do you even want in a partner?

DA: I— What do you mean?

AS: Well, aside from just wanting to uh, “have fun”, what more do you want?

Dexter blushes.

DA: I…I don't quite know. I'm open to exploring what there is out there and making the most of our time together. As long as they are by my side and are happy, I am happy.

Dexter pauses for a second to think further.

DA: I think the type of person I want most is someone with whom I can grow with, in all the meanings of the word. A person that I can change my destiny with. Our destiny.

DA: But uhm, who knows? Maybe I got it all wrong.

AS pauses for a second before chuckling.

AS: Chuckles Well, I think you got it just right, Dexter.

AS stands up and throws a couple coins on the counter.

AS: I'll see you around. It was nice talking with you.

DA: You too…

AS leaves.

FX: Sounds of AS walking on the hardwood flooring and then opening the door, making the doorbell ring, and closing the door.

DA: Huh…

Dexter then makes his way towards the door and turns the “open” sign to “closed” and looks outside.

FX: Sounds of Dexter walking on hardwood flooring and then turning a plastic sign on a glass door.

DA: Hm. Odd one.

Dexter then begins to move away.

DA: Oh! Tsk, dang it. I should've asked for their number.

Dexter walks back to the counter.

DA: Sighs Oh well, I'm sure they'll come around again.

FADE OUT: