Distraction-Free

I have mentioned a couple times a new podcast i have discovered about minimalism (the first good one out there) by a filmmakers named Matt D’Avella, & his podcast “The Ground Up Show” (or Ground Up Podcast, i forget) is super-good and he makes YT videos, too, about minimalist living and what he has discovered since becoming minimalist. I keep looking for something to disagree with him about bc so many minimalist people on YT are doing it for clicks. It has almost become clickbait. But his videos seem p legit. I definitely have gotten a lot out of them (& i have already been minimalist for 8+ years!).

But the point of this blog post is to remind myself, really, that i have to really remain distraction-free during this time in my life when i am focusing on getting this e-book published and later, a physical copy. Independently “marketed” (or promoted or whatever) and independently distributed, independently designed (check!), independently edited (check!), and doing everything w/o Kindle, iBooks, anything. I want to retain all the rights, money, everything for this e-book. Not because i am greedy (I’m not), but because i simply cannot stand Amazon services & because i want this to be 100% readable anywhere you can read an ePub file format & i want to have the pride in saying i did all of this myself.

How have i gone distraction-free?

As i have mentioned in blog posts before, i deleted:

I still consume media, of course. I’m not just sitting here bored all the time. I listen to podcasts, watch (not signed-in) YT videos, get a handful of e-mails (v few) from ProtonMail, and, what many would consider the biggest distraction of them all, I still check Twitter about 10 times a day.

70% of my day is spent tethered to my Raspberry Pi PC & working on the e-book. Takes time. Time-consuming, actually, but that is the point. I already earned my Writing Research Methodologies certificate last week, so i don’t have anything stopping me from going forward w/ the e-book i have been wanting to publish for over a year.

I will continue to be conscious about what i do with my time and i will continue to find ways to eliminate distractions,

That all for now :)