The Flaming Lips Xmas Album

...is the LP i decided to order tonight as soon as my Target refund came in. I ordered it and it will be arriving here sometime around Tuesday and when it does, I will open and behold my first real life vinyl I have had in six (6!) years!!! I am going to order a turntable on November 1, ask for speakers for my Xmas/Birthday combo gift ($99), and get the stand from the 'rents that i used to use for fruit and whatnot when I was living in downtown STL in a tiny apartment and use that for my record, turntable, speaker stand. I have a nice spot for it on the wall, ready to go! I am going to slowly build up all the stuff i want to make the sound system sound fucking great. Including: a bulb-type amplifier, an AudioTechnica receiver (as that is the brand of turntable i will be using), a dual tape deck (at some point), and other things to make stuff sound nice (better, thicker speaker wires, better turntable needle, etc.). I am starting off very slow though. But one thing I do want to jump into is going to The Thrifty Hanger and getting those 5-15 LPs to kickstart the collecky. The records are the star of the show and the hardware I use to play them will be more or less static, unchanged for long periods of time.

I also created an acct on ccvinyl.com (Collector's Choice Vinyl) and made a wishlist of albums I have to buy! I will be adding a SHITload more to the list, but started the wishlist with about 10 albums off the top of my head that i am obsessed with and always will be obsessed with.

Now I am a minimalist but god damn it, if I am not going to collect tattoos, then I am going to collect vinyl. Even in the damn “The Minimalists” documentary they talked about always holding onto the things that give you true value and a record collection would bring me HUGE amounts of value! It is also a sort of way of investing bc some of the LPs will only go up in value similar to the way that silver does. However you cannot do jack shit with silver except fucking look at it! LOL! So all of this is a good decision.

I have narrowed down my possessions to a very small number of things and a collecky is just what i need to be my “one-true-source-of-value” in my life. Make way for the important shit, right? Exactly!

So I am down w/ the clown when it comes to crate digging in the fucking $1 bins and finding tons of obscure shit that no one else wants because that is how you find new shit that i might end up liking later. Gotta be open to these types of things.

Anyway, i am v v v wired at the moment and i need to stop babbling. Back to Twitter!

Be back in a bit!