Iphone Dilemma

I never saw myself writing a blog about this but, here I am. Phones. Cell phones in particular. You know the one? It’s probably in your hand right now but, I’m learning that they aren’t as widely accepted as I thought they were, let me explain.

So on December 27th I made the move to live with my dad. My dad is in his 70’s and he carries a flip-phone. He never has his phone in his hand unless he’s making a phone call. I happened to have my phone in my hand almost off of the time because my whole life is in it.

My phone holds the most precious photos and videos, my phone tells me where I have to be and also when, my phone has all of my important notes in it, I can pretty much say that my phone has almost everything In it!

My dad has been making subltle comments about me and my phone. At first I thought it was so weird but, is it? It is weird that I’m always grabbing my phone to snap a photo, watch a video, buy Crypto, work in my calendar or check a note. I do believe that I have my phone in my hand, way to much. He’s opened my eyes to this. Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve always been considerate about when I use my phone. I don’t allow phones at the dinner table and if I’m talking on it I excuse myself. I think it’s very rude to carry on a phone conversation in front of anyone. So I’m mindful of my phone but, I’m guilty of having it in my hand to much.

I’m open to change and I’m also sensitive about how others feel. Maybe I made my dad feel less important than my phone? If he speaks to me I do stop what I’m doing and give him my full attention but, perhaps that’s not enough. So I’m working hard at putting my phone down. I don’t think anyone’s wrong or right in this situation but, I do see how people that don’t live “in the phone” could be put off by this.

When I go to pick up my phone now I ask myself a few questions.

1. What am I picking that phone up for?

2. Can it wait until I’m in my own private space?

3. Am I take attention away from someone just to be on my phone scrolling social media?

4. Is the timing appropriate or is this just me being bored?

Sometimes I do need that phone in my hands but, more times than others, I don’t. I believe that a lot with the phone is now habit. I also know that I started picking the phone up a lot more during the Pandemic. I also know this, I don’t ever want to make someone that doesn’t understand phone’s feel inferior to it. So I haven’t been on Social Media as much lately but, that’s ok because I’ve had a lot of work to do. I’m far more productive when I’m not picking up my phone to look at it, ever 20 minutes. I’m glad my dad opened my eyes to this. It’s very easy to just grab that phone and get lost in it.

Stay safe everyone ♥️