Tips for keeping the dialogue going

[Updated: 5/31/20; 6/26/20; 6/29/20; 7/20/20; 9/29/20]

I recall well some of the early difficulties I had maintaining the dialogue with the “other” and feeling “his” presence. Here I'll focus on the former. I still struggle in this area, so I can't say any of these tips are sure to make it a breeze for you. But they are things I have found helpful. They come from my own brainstorming, Janice Walton-Hadlock's writing, and ideas others have shared with me. I will add to these as additional ideas come my way. So check back.

Remembering to engage in the dialogue

Avoiding reversion to your prior default dialogue.

One difficulty occurs when you find your internal dialogue has subtly shifted back to your prior default, such as talking with yourself or others you may know. Some tips to deal with this:

Staying connected with the “other”

Here we straddle the line between staying with the dialogue and feeling the presence of the other. At some point, perhaps early in your efforts, you may struggle just to feel you're talking to the “other” rather than just talking aimlessly or to yourself. You may have trouble obtaining the feeling that the “other” is with you. To remedy this:

Please contact me with your own tips. There must be lots of other good ones!